Pojagi

These days, I’ve been going back to my roots and have been obsessing over Pojagi. (Hence, the gushing love over Tea Collection’s new Korea line.)  This old tradition, dating back to the late 1300’s, was used for many things, but commonly used for gift wrapping, food covering, carrying items, and even bedding. Many of these were put together by scraps of material from Hanboks (Korean dress), and oftentimes made of silk.

I am enamored by the colors and simple shapes of the patchwork. Rectangles, squares, and triangles have never looked so good! My mother wraps her Hanbok (Korean dress), in one like the one below, but it is plain and does not have patchwork on it. So funny…. we grew up with this stuff and never thought once or twice about it. (Kind of like, a person not ever going sight seeing in the city he/she lives in.) I think it’s time to poke around some more at Grandma’s house.

How fun would it be to receive a gift wrapped in a Pojagi? If you receive one, just reuse it for another gift to give to someone else.

The Pojagi below was used to cover food and the fabric tab on top is to lift it off.  I don’t know why, but I think it’s so sweet.  It might also be because of the teeny tiny stitches all done by hand.  

Posted in art

2 thoughts on “Pojagi

    • It’s cool, isn’t it? I wish I could sew a little baby blanket in this type of pattern but alas, I can barely hem my pants!

Leave a Reply

